It's not what you are eating, it's what's eating you…

I realize the above title, is a strange title from someone who’s a mental health activist who concentrates most of her mental health activism on suicide prevention, as well as other serious mental health issues that are stigmatized.

And AGAIN, it bears repeating, I’m an activist and an advocate. I’m NOT a clinically and/or credentialed  trained medical or mental health professional. People in medical and/or mental health crisis need acute professional and immediate interventions and/or supervision by evaluation and hopefully treatment and/or management of their conditions.

However, whether they are celebrities or private individuals, it’s becoming a constant source in our daily news, when people are in medical and/or mental health crises. It’s worse now in the era of social media, where people get tried, speculated and WAY “over mediazed”  online, whether they are celebrities or NOT.

It won’t hurt me, at all, if you gently or rudely point out, that I have A LOT of time on my hands, to be this empathetic. And I’m not trying to come off self righteous, by pointing out that whether you’d want that kind of attention if you or are a loved one was in crisis or you wouldn’t, we don’t have a right, to make that choice for other people. ESPECIALLY when they’ve begged for privacy, in their darkest times for themselves OR their loved ones. And even if they aren’t begging for privacy from the media, that doesn’t mean they don’t need it.

And AGAIN, it bears repeating. NO ONE  gets to tell me how I do my activism, except me. I do, perhaps, have a stronger sense of empathy for people in crisis, but who aren’t intentionally (or even sometimes unintentionally due to serious mental health barriers) trying to hurt others. And again, I don’t think I’m being a hypocrite. I don’t have a huge social media presence. I don’t make any money off my blog. My intention, is to HELP. Sometimes I’ve been able to understand something, that someone close to me, could never get me to understand, but a stranger on the internet, said something and it resonated with me.

That’s all I’m trying to do, here. Is make people understand that we don’t have a right (and it’s horribly wrong) to use people’s crises for entertainment and/or profit. That maybe some strange disabled chick on the internet can make you gently see, that we should either treat people how we’d want to be treated in times of crises or respect what they or their loved ones, need. Not what we may need to get through our own HELLISH times, even though we wouldn’t want or our loved ones, to be treated that way, when they need empathy and privacy, the most.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

