It's not what you are eating, it's what's eating you…

  I just read about Jay Z and Solange Knowles fight. How I missed up until now, that I don’t know. Probably, because I was spending most of yesterday, either writing my last blog and working on what should’ve been my next until I saw the assault trend on Facebook and read how much Jay Z was being mocked.

   This is my opinion on it. And if I missed any one of my social media friends who might have posted it, in jest, I guess we are going to have to take the stance “to agree to disagree, respectfully”.

    I guess I’m missing where this is funny. AT ALL. If it would’ve been in reverse, the internet would be crucifying Jay Z. While I’ve only blogged once about celebrities (that would be of Kanye West, the Kardashians and Kris Jenner) last Fall, making jokes and memes about this situation is in such poor taste, in what I feel is not my so humble opinion.  

   I admit I check out People.com and while I don’t love the eleventeen twentytrazillion stories about weight loss, I am a not so closet celebrity junkie. Not the point of gawking or finding what should be someone’s private business, public. That’s why I purposely stay away from TMZ.com. It makes me feel like a dirty voyeur and they should feel that way. But there’s too much money and attention  at stake.  

   Well in this era that almost everything is newsworthy for about 2 seconds, people should be forgetting this shortly. Spare yourself from arguing with me, that celebrities deserve this kind of scrutiny, THEY DO NOT. 

   As someone who’s poor, disabled, has no power and has managed to find herself mocked on an internet site for profit, I find this repulsive (I blogged about that a couple of weeks ago)  and I guess a great way to get hits on my blog and the site that’s hosting the mockery of a serious blog of mine, is insert the word “trainwreck”. As out of all the blogs I’ve ever written that was my most read blog. 

   I guess my life history past and present doesn’t like mocking people in vulnerable situations. I don’t care who they are. Whether they are a celebrity “A-list” power couple, a celebrity that needs mental health or chemical dependency treatment or a non famous person who ends up on a show like “Hoarders” or “Intervention”, when people who are the midst of a crisis really DO NOT have the ability to give informed consent.

   As I stated in a more recent blog, a couple of days ago, I did share a flight with Princess Diana where I saw the intense scrutiny she was under, up close and personal in 1996. I can’t imagine what it’s like for celebrities, in the era of social media.  

   This fellow Brooklynite hopes Jay Z can sue TMZ’s ass off…… 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

